FAQ       Top  >  Literary Structure of the Bible  >  Book of Daniel

Literary structure (chiasm, chiasmus) of Book of Daniel

List of Literary Structures


4-1  4-2  4-3  4-4 

List of Pericopes

1 Four young Israerites at the Babylonian court(1:1-21)
2 Nebuchadnezzar's dream(2:1-49)
3 The fiery furnace(3:1-30)
4 Nebuchadnezzar's second dream(3:31-4:25)
5 Nebuchadnezzar's humiliation(4:26-34)
6 The writing on the wall(5:1-29)
7 Daniel in the Lion's den(6:1-29)
8 The visions of four beasts(7:1-8)
9 Judgment before the ancient one(7:9-14)
10 Daniel's visions interpreted(7:15-28)
11 Vision of a ram and a goat(8:1-14)
12 Gabriel interprets the vision(8:15-27)
13 Daniel's prayer for the people(9:1-20)
14 The seventy weeks(9:21-27)
15 Vision about the time of the end(10:1-21)
16 Angel's prophecy(11:1-45)
17 The resurrection of the dead(12:1-13)

Citations of the Bible are from New American Bible and New Revised Standard Version