FAQ       Top  >  Literary Structure of the Bible  >  Book of Micah

Literary structure (chiasm, chiasmus) of Book of Micah

List of Literary Structures


3-1  3-2  3-3 

List of Pericopes

1 Judgment pronumnced against Samaria(1:1-7)
2 The doom of the cities of Judah(1:8-16)
3 Social evils denounced(2:1-13)
4 Wicked rulers and prophets(3:1-12)
5 Peace and security through obedience(4:1-7)
6 Restoration promised after exile(4:8-14)
7 The ruler from Bethlehem(5:1-8)
8 The future role of the remnant(5:9-14)
9 God challenges Israle(6:1-8)
10 Cheating and violence to be punished(6:9-16)
11 The total corruption of the people(7:1-8)
12 Penitence and trust in God(7:9-13)
13 God's compassion and steadfast love(7:14-20)

Citations of the Bible are from New American Bible and New Revised Standard Version