FAQ       Top  >  Literary Structure of the Bible  >  Book of Hosea

Literary structure (chiasm, chiasmus) of Book of Hosea

List of Literary Structures


3-1  3-2  3-3 

4-1  4-2  4-3  4-4 

List of Pericopes

1 The family of Hosea(1:1-9)
2 Betrayal of Israel(2:1-15)
3 Salvation of Israel(2:16-25)
4 Further assurance of God's redeeming love(3:1-5)
5 The idolatry of Israel(4:1-5:7)
6 Sin and punishment of war(5:8-6:11)
7 Futil reliance on the nations(7:1-12)
8 Israel's apostasy(7:13-8:14)
9 Sin at Baal-peor and Gilgal(9:1-17)
10 Israel's sin and captivity(10:1-15)
11 God's compassion despite Israel's ingratitude(11:1-11)
12 The history of rebellion(12:1-14_14:1)
13 Assurance of forgiveness(14:2-10)

Citations of the Bible are from New American Bible and New Revised Standard Version